3 days in The Ardennes

Today, I’m going to share probably the hardest experience I have ever  had and that I’m the most proud of at the same time. I went in The Ardennes, the Belgian part full of wonderful green landscapes, to walk during the course of 3 days with my school. This trip was organized for us to push our limits and we also had other choices of activities like sports, yoga, or nature. I’m not going to lie, I choose the walk trip because I didn’t want to use too much effort but I still wanted to move a little bit. On this level, I wasn’t disappointed : we walked 61 kilometers in 3 days in the forest.


677122e4-d6e2-42bc-bc8a-525baf088b75
In fact, walking 61 km in 3 days may not seems to be the hardest thing but walking 61km in 3 days on sloping forests when you have never done any sport and barely move is way harder. Physically, because you have pain in some parts of your body you didn’t even know were used while walking, but not only. Actually, it was harder psychologically because sometimes you think you can’t go further and you want to stop everything but having done this I can say that it’s all in the head.


Okay, I couldn’t feel my legs anymore so perhaps it’s not only in the head but still. Each day, I thought that I wouldn’t be able to make it till the end but I still tried my best until the 61 km were over. During those walks, I was suffering, complaining, almost crying but above all, I’ve been able to think a lot. You know, when you are surrounded by nothing but what the nature has to offer to you for 3 days from early in the morning to late in the evening, you can’t just keep complaining. I knew that I wouldn’t get used to it but I still wanted to make the best out of it so I took the time to think about everything and nothing like things I want to achieve in the future, ways to improve myself or questions that are in my mind right now. This really helped me to free my mind. Even if I had that spirit during a shorter time than when I only felt the pain, I felt like I wasn’t there for nothing so I still wanted to walk just for moments like this.

When I couldn’t think, I looked at the surroundings and it made me realize that you don’t have to go far to be amazed by the landscapes. I didn’t take a lot of pictures because I was enjoying the moments(/suffering) but the environment was so beautiful that I didn’t want to leave – well quite a bit but I didn’t want to leave the landscapes-.

This trip taught me that no matter the situation you have to make the best out of it and mainly think about what it will bring you at the end. And now, I can say that I’m proud of myself for having done that even if I wanted to give up more than once.

I’m sorry for not having taken a lot of pictures but I didn’t bring my camera so I didn’t always think about taking pictures.

Well, I still hope you liked this little trip diary and feel free to leave a comment so I know what you think about it !
X

5 thoughts on “3 days in The Ardennes

Laisser un commentaire

